Aleisha, 4 Year Old Breast Cancer Survivor

February 12, 2011 The Power of Pink

Last year, when I first started researching for The Power of Pink, I came across breast cancer cases I never thought possible. On Jacki Donaldson’s breast cancer blog, the blog which helped spark my inspiration, I came across news of 10 year old Hannah who had been diagnosed with breast cancer. Hannah was one of the more shocking factors for my classmates to hear about during my blog presentation.

Just when I thought breast cancer couldn’t find any other way to shock me, flipping through a magazine at the nail salon today changed that thought forever. The last words I ever thought I’d read was, “4 Year Old Beats Breast Cancer.”

Although this was a dated article, the news was anything but shocking. I was surprised that I hadn’t heard of this sooner. Canadian native, Aleisha Hunter was only two and a half years old when her mom discovered a lump on her daughter’s breast. She was having problems sleeping and eating as well as suffering severe pain from the lump. At three, Aleisha was diagnosed with a very rare secretory breast carcinoma, also known as a juvenile breast carcinoma.

Aleisha underwent a radical modified mastectomy where doctors removed her entire breast and sixteen lymph nodes. She wasn’t able to go through chemotherapy or radiation because it would have affected her growth. Aleisha will also have to undergo reconstructive surgery when her body has developed. Just to think, she’s a baby, not a woman. They had to remove a part of a her body that she wasn’t even old enough to grasp losing.

The point is Aleisha is now a survivor. And at 4 years old, she is the world’s youngest breast cancer survivor. Parents, need not worry, the cancer that Aleisha and Hannah developed is extremely rare.

This is something I will never forget, and Aleisha is someone who will stay in my heart forever.

Girl, 3, survives rare form of breast cancer; Aleisha Hunter had to undergo radical mastectomy

Toddler Aleisha Hunter Among Youngest to Survive Breast Cancer

Entry Filed under: News,People

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melanie Hunter  |  February 12, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    My lil survivor šŸ™‚

    • 2. The Power of Pink  |  February 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      Hi Melanie, I don’t know how you found my blog but I’m so happy that you did! My mom, Aleisha, and people affected by breast cancer are the reason I started this blog. Aleisha’s story is so incredible and I hope I have all of the information correct so that her story can be spread.

      Best wishes to you and your family and all the best to Aleisha! She’s a beautiful, strong little girl and I hope she knows that! šŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading!

      Sincerely Nicole Hyer

  • 3. Melanie  |  February 15, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    I came across it when I googled her name. Aleisha is doing well, she is in school Jr kindergarten fulltime and she loves it!
    She knows she is a survivor šŸ™‚
    Aleisha and I enjoy doing walks and fundraising for cancer. June 11 2011 is her one year anniversary of her surgery and we will also be doing the relay for life that night for the Canadian Cancer Society. In September we will be participating in the 60k weekend to end cancer (part of the crew) and in October we will be walking the 5K CIBC walk for the cure. I hope by her being active in these events she will grow up a strong willed lady and no be embarrassed about her breast cancer.

    • 4. The Power of Pink  |  February 15, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      Thank you for writing me back šŸ™‚ I’m so happy to hear how well Aleisha is doing, it’s good she knows that she is a survivor. June 11th is going to be a very special day for her and it sounds like it is going to be very fun. I will make sure to write a shout out to her on here, cheering you both on. Its great how involved you are starting her off, because it will follow her the rest of her life. I’m sure she’s not embarassed, and the older she gets, the more she will understand.

      I will have you both in my thoughts, and the best to both of you. Keep in touch! šŸ˜€ Big hug to Aleisha for me!


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Blog Stats

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other subscribers
The Breast Cancer Site
My Making Strides Page

Important Sites